African American Experience

The contributions of African Americans to every aspect of the United States—from the initial settlement of the Americas to the present day—are substantial. The African American experience encompasses the myriad contributions of individuals from the African American community who have achieved prominence in the arts, entertainment, the sciences, business, the military, and politics as well as nameless others who endured the travails of slavery and institutionalized discrimination. A collection that taps a tremendous variety of sources is required to cover a topic of this magnitude and the importance of understanding African American history and its relation to greater U.S. history.

Database Link

Annals of American History

Annals of American History Online explores the rich and varied history of the United States.  Provides a year-by-year documentary of American thought and action.  Read the original words of more than 1,500 authors who made and analyzed American history through their speeches, writings, memoirs, poems, and interviews.

Database Link| Home Access Link

History Reference Center

Features the full text of more than 650 historical encyclopedias and other non-fiction books, as well as nearly 60 leading history periodicals; historical documents, biographies of historical figures, historical photos and maps; and hours of historical film and video.

Database Link

New York Times Historical

Includes all the articles published since the first issue of the paper in 1851. Provides full text and full image articles with digital reproductions of every page, every article and every issue in PDF format. In addition to news stories, includes editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photos, and advertisements.

Database Link