21st Century Explorer

Provides online reference and learning tools for students who read below grade level, are dealing with specific learning problems, or are at risk of falling behind. This user-friendly collection contains all of the resources that students need including encyclopedias, an atlas, historic timelines, a dictionary, news, and other essential learning tools. 21st-Century Explorer is ideal for reluctant readers, ELL and ESL students, and adult literacy students.

Database Link| Home Access Link

Academic OneFile

Academic OneFile is a source of peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world’s leading journals and reference sources. Coverage includes the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.

Database Link

Annals of American History

Annals of American History Online explores the rich and varied history of the United States.  Provides a year-by-year documentary of American thought and action.  Read the original words of more than 1,500 authors who made and analyzed American history through their speeches, writings, memoirs, poems, and interviews.

Database Link| Home Access Link

Ask-a-Librarian

Connects students, teachers, business people, and researchers to a librarian for help with research and reference challenges. The librarian uses virtual chat and an interactive online environment to share information and resources in real-time.

Database Link

EBSCO Primary Search

Primary Search contains full-text for more than 60 elementary school magazines.  In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 100 magazines.  Full-text is also available for over 100 student pamphlets.

Database Link

Encyclopedia Americana

Encyclopedia Americana is international in scope and is known for its detailed coverage of American and Canadian geography and history. It is also strong in biography and scientific and technical subjects.

Database Link

Encyclopedia Britannica

The Encyclopædia Britannica is a general knowledge English-language encyclopaedia.  It is continuously updated and is regarded as one of the most scholarly of encyclopaedias.

Database Link| Home Access Link

GreenFILE

GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects.  Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.

Database Link

Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia

Multimedia resources provide quick access factual information as well as broad overviews of general subjects.  Contains: America the Beautiful, Encyclopedia Americana, Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia, Lands and Peoples, The New Book of Knowledge, and The New Book of Popular Science

Database Link

History Reference Center

Features the full text of more than 650 historical encyclopedias and other non-fiction books, as well as nearly 60 leading history periodicals; historical documents, biographies of historical figures, historical photos and maps; and hours of historical film and video.

Database Link

Learning Express Library

Learning Express Library is an interactive online learning platform featuring over 770 practice tests, tutorials, and eBooks related to job search and workplace skills improvement, career certification and licensing exam preparation, college entrance and graduate school admissions exam preparation, GED exam preparation, and basic skills improvement in reading, writing, and math, for all ages.

Database Link

LitFinder

LitFinder provides access to primary literature content, including the full-text of poems, short stories, essays, speeches, and plays. Some works may only be available as citations or excerpts.  LitFinder also includes biographies, work summaries, photographs, and a glossary.  The database is international in scope and covers all time periods.

Database Link

Live Homework Help from Tutor.com

An online tutoring service that connects students in kindergarten through 12th grade, college, and adult learners with expert tutors. Live Homework Help tutors are certified teachers, university professors, graduate school students, college students, and professionals who are experts in their fields.

Database Link

New Book of Knowledge

The New Book of Knowledge is for middle grade students and includes literary selections, a timeline, projects and experiments, news, homework help and more.

Database Link| Home Access Link

Novelist K-8

Helps teens and children identify books they’d like to read based on titles, authors and topics they have read and enjoyed. It also provides full-text reviews and annotations.

Database Link

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context is for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today’s hottest social issues.  Features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

Database Link

Primary Search

Primary Search contains full-text for more than 60 elementary school magazines. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 100 magazines. Full-text is also available for over 100 student pamphlets.

Database Link

ProQuest Research Library

From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library provides access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. ProQuest Research Library consists of two components: a core list of periodicals; plus 15 supplemental subject-specific modules.

Database Link

Salem History

Several history databases, including: Milestone Documents in American History, The Sixties in America, The Nineties in America, Great Lives from History: The Ancient World, G reat Events from History:  The Ancient World, The Middle Ages, and Encyclopedia of American Immigration.

Database Link | Home Access Link

Science in Context

An engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of today’s most significant science topics. The new solution merges Gale’s authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

Database Link

Searchasaurus

Searchasaurus is a search engine for users in elementary or middle schools. Searchasaurus is a way for young researchers to experience online searching. It is an animated interface with a dinosaur theme that encourages young researchers to enhance and develop basic search methodologies. Searchasaurus offers Lexile limiters (reading level), making it easy for young patrons to read and research only appropriately challenging materials.

Database Link

Twaynes Authors Series

A literary resources which includes the full-text of the Twayne’s U.S. Authors, Twayne’s English Authors, and Twayne’s World Authors. Covers hundreds of significant writers around the world.

Database Link

World Data Analyst

World Data Analyst offers detailed statistical comparisons of countries around the world, using both the most recent statistics and historical figures. One create tables, charts, export the information to a spreadsheet for printing and data crunching, and also link to country articles in Encyclopedia Britannica.

Database Link| Home Access Link