21st Century Explorer

Provides online reference and learning tools for students who read below grade level, are dealing with specific learning problems, or are at risk of falling behind. This user-friendly collection contains all of the resources that students need including encyclopedias, an atlas, historic timelines, a dictionary, news, and other essential learning tools. 21st-Century Explorer is ideal for reluctant readers, ELL and ESL students, and adult literacy students.

Database Link| Home Access Link

EBSCO Primary Search

Primary Search contains full-text for more than 60 elementary school magazines.  In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 100 magazines.  Full-text is also available for over 100 student pamphlets.

Database Link

Kids Infobits

Kids InfoBits is a database for students in kindergarten through grade 5. It features a kid-friendly graphic interface with full-text content from elementary reference sources and magazines. Kids InfoBits covers geography, current events, the arts and sciences, people, government, history, and more.

Database Link

Kids Search

Kids Search is EBSCO’s interface designed for students in grades K through 5. Kids Search provides elementary school students with an easy-to-use, graphically-appealing interface they can use to search their EBSCO databases.

Database Link

Novelist K-8

Helps teens and children identify books they’d like to read based on titles, authors and topics they have read and enjoyed. It also provides full-text reviews and annotations.

Database Link

Searchasaurus

Searchasaurus is a search engine for users in elementary or middle schools. Searchasaurus is a way for young researchers to experience online searching. It is an animated interface with a dinosaur theme that encourages young researchers to enhance and develop basic search methodologies. Searchasaurus offers Lexile limiters (reading level), making it easy for young patrons to read and research only appropriately challenging materials.

Database Link

Sesame Street

Sesame Workshop, has partnered with Impelsys to convert many Sesame Street books into eBooks. Sesame Workshop now offers content in the most innovative, engaging and user friendly formats appealing to both children and their parents. The online portal offers more than one hundred eBooks with new titles being added on a regular basis. The eBooks feature audio narration, interactivity and animation bringing popular Sesame Street characters to life.

Database Link | Home Access Link

Spanish Reference Center

Spanish Reference Center provides both PlanetaSaber and the Enciclopedia Juvenil. PlanetaSaber features the Gran Enciclopedia Planeta, an encyclopedia in the Spanish language, including over 145,000 encyclopedia articles, more than 10,000 maps, photos, and media pieces, and 8,000 Internet links.  Also includes a visual navigator, interactive atlas, and multilanguage dictionary.  Enciclopedia Juvenil, for younger ages, helps students sharpen their language skills while they learn new lessons.

Database Link| Home Access Link

TumbleBooks

An online collection of TumbleBooks – animated, talking picture books which teach kids the joy of reading in a format they’ll love. TumbleBooks are created by adding animation, sound, music and narration to existing picture books in order to produce an electronic picture book which you can read, or have read to you.

Database Link